Sunday, May 19, 2013

Comelec released results of May 2013 poll winners in Sorsogon

Ang mga bagong halal na Bokal sa unang distrito ng Sorsogon.
 By: Bennie A. Recebido

SORSOGON CITY, May 20 (PIA) – Election fever has toned-down in Sorsogon as the Commission on Election (Comelec) Provincial Board of Canvassers released on Friday, May 17, 2013, the official winners of the May 13, 2013 for the provincial level.

Provincial Board of Canvassers officially proclaimed the victors at exactly 2:55AM starting with the newly elected Sorsogon First District Representative Mrs. Evelina Escudero who got 87,904 votes. Escudero popularly known as “Nanay Evie” is the wife of former Congressman Salvador H. Escudero III and the mother of Senator Francis Escudero.

Incumbent 2nd District Congressman Deogracias Ramos, Jr. remains undefeated with a landslide vote of 102,000 against his nearest opponent Guillermo De Castro who got 41,265 votes.

For Governor, Sorsogon incumbent Governor Raul R. Lee took the lead with a total of 123,232 votes against his tough rival, incumbent Board Member Mark Eric Dioneda who got 118,889 votes, a difference of 4,343 votes.

Incumbent Vice-Governor Antonio Escudero won the same position with a total of 133,745 against his lone opponent incumbent Board Member Vladimir Frivaldo who got 86,903 votes.

Proclaimed winners as Provincial Board Members for the First District are Krunimar Escudero, incumbent Board Members Rebecca Aquino and Eric Franco Ravanilla, Roland Anonuevo and Everesto Relativo.

For 2nd District Provincial Board Member, winners are incumbent Board Member Renato Guban, incumbent Bulusan Mayor Michael Guysayko, Arze Glipo, incumbent Board Members Bernard Hao and Angel Escandor.

In Sorsogon City, the Board of Canvassers also proclaimed on May 17, 2013 the newly elected officials with former Governor Sally Lee as the new City Mayor who got 33,895 votes against her lone opponent, incumbent City Mayor Leovic Dioneda with 32, 692 votes, a difference of 1,203 votes. Sally Lee was the first Sorsogon City Mayor and served the City for two terms from 2001-2007 before she ran and won as Governor of Sorsogon in 2007.

For City vice-mayor, incumbent City Councilor Ma. Charo Dichoso won the vice-mayoralty race with 23,282 votes taking an edge of 2,074 votes against nearest opponent former City Mayor Edmundo Atutubo.

Proclaimed as Sangguniang Panlungsod winners for Bacon District are incumbent City Councilors Inigo Destacamento and Roque Divina, Emmanuel Diolata and Hilario Dioneda; for East District, winners are incumbent City Councilor Florencio Jamisola, Jr., Atty. Joven Laura, Mary Ellen Jamisola and Ralph Walter Lubiano; and for West District, winners are incumbent City Councilors Aldin Ayo and Rogelio Jebulan, Sr., Dave Duran and incumbent City Councilor Pedro Alindogan.

Meanwhile, it can be noted that canvassing for the provincial level was four times reset after Bulan town and Sorsogon City failed to transmit the election returns.

Chairman of the Provincial Board of Canvassers and Election Supervisor Atty. Calixto Aquino, Jr. said that the Compact Flash (CF) Cards including the back-up cards of Precinct Counting Optical Scan (PCOS) Machines for Brgys. Balete and Sampaloc in Sorsogon City and Brgy. Beguin in Bulan town have malfunctioned causing the non-transmittal of over-all results from the two areas.

Board of Election Inspectors (BEIs) have to wait for the replacement of CF cards from Manila before they are able to continue with the Sorsogon City and Bulan Municipal Canvassing. The slow delivery of the new CF cards also added to the delay of transmission.

Following the receipt of CF cards on May 16, 2013, Sorsogon City transmitted the election returns to the Provincial Board of Canvassers at 10:15 PM of the same date while Bulan was able to transmit 15 minutes past midnight.

Earlier on, thirteen municipalities have already proclaimed their respective newly elected mayors as follows: Barcelona – incumbent Mayor Manuel Fortes, Jr.; Bulusan – incumbent City Councilor Domingo Halum; Casiguran – incumbent Mayor Ma. Ester Hamor; Castilla – unopposed incumbent Mayor Olive Bermillo; Donsol – Josephine Alcantara, daughter of former re-electionist Mayor Jerome Alcantara who died before election; Gubat – Roderick Co; Irosin – incumbent Mayor Eduardo Ong, Jr; Juban – Antonio Alindogan; Magallanes – incumbent Vice-Mayor Augusto Manuel Ragrario; Matnog – incumbent Mayor Emilio Ubaldo; Pilar – incumbent Mayor Dennis Sy-Reyes; Pto. Diaz – incumbent Board Member Benito Doma; and Sta. Magdalena – incumbent Mayor Alejandro Gamos. Bulan was the last municipality to proclaim its new elected officials with incumbent Vice Mayor Marnelli Robles as the new mayor.

Election Supervisor Atty. Calixto Aquino, Jr. meanwhile, calls on everyone, now that election is over, to forget politics, live a normal life and support those who won the race prioritizing what is best for the community towards a more productive and developed province of Sorsogon. (BARecebido, PIA Sorsogon)

No comments: