Wednesday, July 3, 2013

Government of Sorsogon recieves its 4th LMPC Award

4rth Plaque of Recognition for Sorsogon

SORSOGON CITY, July 3 (PIA) – Regional Development Council (RDC) recently awarded plaques of recognition to the Local Project Monitoring Committees (LPMCs) of Sorsogon along with Albay and Catanduanes, as well as the cities of Legaspi and Naga during the RDC Full Council Meeting held last month at the area office of the National Economic and Development Authority (NEDA V) for regularly conducting its monitoring activities in support to the Regional Project Monitoring and Evaluation System (RPMES).
Provincial Information Officer of Sorsogon Von Labalan said that the evaluation made was anchored in the CY 2012 quarterly project monitoring reports submitted by the LPMCs. The assessment committee is composed of the Department of Interior and Local Government (DILG), Department of Budget and management (DBM), Presidential Management Staff-Office of the president (PMS-OP), and NEDA assisted by the Regional Project Monitoring Committee Secretariat.

“This mark of respect aims to motivate, strengthen and sustain the LPMCs in monitoring development projects, which covers all provincial, city and municipal categories,” he added.

Recognition received by Sorsogon-LGU for the past 4 years.
Looking back, the Provincial Project Monitoring Committee (PPMC) of the Government of Sorsogon, under the leadership of the Governor Raul R. Lee, bagged the award  of the 2011’s Most Outstanding Local Project Monitoring Committee (LPMC); 2nd was Naga, while Legaspi City was placed at 3rd for the annual search steered by the RPMES.

Sorsogon’s PPMC was likewise placed at 3rd for two consecutive years (2009 and 2010), aside from being cited for regularly conducting its monitoring activities in support to the RPMES.

The Project Monitoring Committee of the Province of Sorsogon was organized through an Executive Order No 4 by then Governor Sally Ante Lee on April 4, 2008, wherein, included as its mandatory members (Section 4.1 of RPMES Operational Manual) are the DILG Provincial Director, Provincial Budget Officer, Provincial Treasurer, Provincial Accountant, Provincial Engineer and two NGO/PO representatives.

Executive Order Number 93 Series of 1993 and DILG Memorandum Circular Number 2004-78 were the basis in the organization of the PPMC.

Under the Provincial Development Council (PDC), the PPMC was organized through a Secretariat which included the Provincial Planning and Development Office (PPDO), Provincial Engineer’s Office (PEO), and Provincial Agricultural and Fishery Council (PAFC).

PPDO Chief Dominador O. Jardin, meanwhile, stated significance to this achievement of the PPMC’s Annual Accomplishment Report for the Province of Sorsogon which consisted of the PPMC Organizational Chart, Work Programme and Highlights of Accomplishments. Likewise, minutes of quarterly meetings, field monitoring validations (which take account of photo documentations), financial/physical accomplishment of capital investment, as well as, social and economic programmes/projects. (BARecebido, PIA Sorsogon/VAELabalan, Sorsogon PIO)

No comments: