Wednesday, December 12, 2012

Winners of Bicol Essay Writing Competition on the Legacy of Sec. Robredo announced

DAET, CAMARINES NORTE, Dec 12 (PIA) - The Bicol Essay Writing Competition with theme The Living Legacy of Secretary Jesse M. Robredo was successfully held last December 8, 2012 in SM Naga, Naga City.

Young writers from the six provinces of Bicol region competed for the regional championships on the said essay writing competition for both secondary and tertiary levels.
The young writers are the 12 provincial essay writing first placers, namely: (Tertiary Level) Valerie Salon (Libon Community College, Libon, Albay); Reggiemar N. Doctolero (Mabini Colleges, Daet, Cam. Norte); Herbert John N. Nachor (La Consolacion College, Iriga City, Cam. Sur); John Ely B. Templonuevo (Catanduanes State University, Catanduanes); Mylene C. Gludo (Osmena College, Masbate City); and John Lester T. Lisano (Computer Communication Devt. Inc., Sorsogon)

(Secondary Level): Christian I. Dy (MORMS, Guinobatan, Albay);       Ray Douvani N. Regondola (Cam. Norte State College, Daet, Cam. Norte); Althea B. Abergos (Ateneo de Naga University, Naga City); Yllaisa Mae Gianan (Catanduanes State University Lab. HS, Catanduanes); Emilio G. Oliva (Marintoc National High School, Marintoc, Mobo, Masbate); and Joanna Rizza Figueroa (Gallanosa National High School, Sorsogon)

The writers on the said competition developed the theme on leadership quality as depicted by the late interior and local government secretary Robredo. After the critical judging made by the distinguished board of judges, the Regional Winners were declared as follows:

(Tertiary Level): Champion: Mylene C. Gludo (Osmena College, Masbate City)/Coach: Jonald B. Sia; 1st Runner Up: Valerie Salon (Libon Community College, Libon,Albay)/Coach:  Ma. Salve B. Rosal; 2nd Runner Up: John Ely B. Templonuevo (Catanduanes State University, Virac,  Catanduanes)/Coach:   Prof. Jocelyn S. Ibones

(Secondary Level): Champion: Althea B. Abergos (Ateneo de Naga University, Naga City)/Coach: Nieva S. Bermundo; 1st Runner Up: Ray Douvani N. Regondola (Cam. Norte State College, Daet, Cam. Norte)/Coach: Marilyn J. Rempillo; 2ndRunner Up: Joanna Rizza Figueroa (Gallanosa National High School, Sorsogon)/Coach: Mylene G. Goyola

Daet Mayor Tito Sarte Sarion, Publisher of the Bicol Harvest Magazine and proponent of the essay writing competition, invited the Kaya Natin Movement to lead the activity being one of the stakeholders of the contest.  Coun. Lord Arnel Ruanto of Infanta, Quezon represented Harvey S. Keh, the founder of the Kaya Natin Movement. 

Other members of the board of judges include  Atty. Leni Gerona-Robredo, widow of Sec. Jesse M. Robredo; SM Amy Garcia-Villafuerte of ABS-CBN Naga; Mark L. Yu, President of Seaoil Foundation, Inc., one of the sponsors; Naga City Vice Mayor Gabriel H. Bordado;  Department of the Interior and Local Government (DILG) –Region V  ARD Elouisa T. Pastor representing RD Blandino Maceda; Philippine Information Agency (PIA) – Region V OIC-RD Aida Naz;  Commission on Higher Education (CHED) – Region V Education Supervisor Dr. Jean Salalima-Go representing RD Dr. Freddie T. Bernal; and Department of Education (DepEd)-Region V Education Supervisor Dr. Acelodonio Balderas representing RD Orfelina Tuy.          Naga City Mayor John Bongat also attended the said regional event and gave his inspirational message.

 “Winners of the regional competition in both categories had received a cash prize of P10,000; P7,000 and P5,000 for the first, second and third placer respectively and 3 consolation prizes of P1,000,” said Daet Mayor Tito S. Sarion.

The provincial winners, on the other hand are awarded in both categories of a trophy and cash prize of P5,000 for first place, P3,000 for second place and P2,000 for third place. 

Co-proponents of the competition were the Philippine Information Agency (PIA), Department of Interior and Local Government (DILG), Local Government Unit of Daet, Department of Education (DepEd), Commission on Higher Education (CHED), SM Naga and ABS-CBN Naga.

The Local Government Units of Naga City, Iriga City, Legaspi City, Albay, Tabaco City, Ligao City, Casiguran town of Sorsogon, Catanduanes and Masbate City also showed full support to the said undertaking.

The Philippine Postal Corporation and PhilHealth as well as other corporate sponsors such as SEAOIL, Moringa Vita, Planters Products, Penafrancia Tours, Metro Naga Chamber of Commerce, Inc.  LMP-Camarines Norte, Chowking, Mr. Donut, BIGGs, Bob Marlin, Manila Bulletin, Bikol Reporter, various Cam. Sur media groups as well as other sponsors made the objectives of the said regional competition realized. (RCYu, MIO-Daet/PIA Sorsogon)

No comments: